New Shoreline Fishing License on Sale
A new $7.50 shoreline fishing license went on sale Wednesday.
Beginning Aug. 1, anyone fishing from shore must have one of the licenses. Only 73 people bought one the day they went on sale, but thousands more will need one, according to the Capitol News Service.
As many as 338,000 anglers are expected to need a shoreline license for the first time. At Rivers Bait and Tackle, owner Johnny Rivers is already hearing the grumbling.
“I think it’s going to hurt the fishing industry," Rivers said.
The first-ever license to fish from shore costs $7.50. People on food stamps or other cash assistance are exempt. The state expects to raise just under $1 million.
“The shoreline license fee sales will go directly to research and management of marine resources and law enforcement," said Henry Cabbage with the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
Terry Arnold doesn’t own a boat, and he said he will keep taking his kids and grandkids fishing.
“I mean, if I have to pay to keep the beaches clean, keep things up, keep the Wildlife and Game Commission people patrolling, yeah, that would be fine," Arnold said.
People over 65 or under 16 are exempt from buying all fishing licenses.
The state is suggesting that people buy a full salt water fishing license for $17.50, which entitles them to fish from a boat as well as from shore.
- Shoreline Fishing License: Get Your Questions Answered
- Wildlife Officials Ready for License Free Fishing
- New Bill Could Bring License fees Down
- New Changes to Getting and Updating Driver's Licenses
- New Drivers License Regulations Cause Frustration
- Grooveshark Signs New Licensing Agreement With EMI Publishing
- Fish Fraud: Do You Know Where Your Fish Comes From?
- Florida License Plates Still Need To Be Approved
- State Suspends License of Local Pediatric Dentist
- Sex Offenders and Predators Get Special Driver's License Status