DeVonta Smith wins Heisman Trophy, Gators quarterback Kyle Trask comes in fourth

Florida quarterback Kyle Trask throws a pass during the first half of the team's Cotton Bowl...
Florida quarterback Kyle Trask throws a pass during the first half of the team's Cotton Bowl NCAA college football game against Oklahoma in Arlington, Texas, Wednesday, Dec. 30, 2020. (AP Photo/Ron Jenkins)(Ron Jenkins | AP)
Published: Jan. 5, 2021 at 8:06 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

GAINESVILLE, Fla. (WCJB) - Florida quarterback Kyle Trask’s record setting season during the pandemic-impacted fall of 2020 was ultimately not enough to win the Heisman Trophy.

“I never imagined myself sitting where I am right now but just to have the opportunity to win this prestigious award means everything,” Trask said on ESPN before the ceremony.

College football’s top honor went to Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith, who led all FBS players in receptions, receiving yards, and was second in touchdown catches at the time of the voting. Smith is the first wide receiver honored with the Heisman Trophy since Desmond Howard in 1991.

Trask finished fourth in voting, behind Smith, Trevor Lawrence in second and Mac Jones in third.

Trask, who led the Gators to their first SEC Eastern Division title since 2016, finished with a school-record 43 touchdown passes and 4,283 yards in the air. Both totals led all FBS quarterbacks.

The Texan signal caller became the first Florida player to be named a finalist for the Heisman Trophy since Tim Tebow in 2009. Tebow remains one of three Gators to win the award, having done so in 2007. Florida’s other two Heisman winners are Steve Spurrier in 1966 and Danny Wuerffel in 1996.

Several former Gators came out to show their support for Trask during the day on Tuesday, including Rex Grossman and Steve Spurrier.

Florida also produced the tenth-place vote-getter, tight end Kyle Pitts. He becomes the first tight end to crack the top ten of Hesiman balloting in 43 years.

Copyright 2021 WCJB. All rights reserved.