Florida Governor honors two NCFL teachers

During a meeting of the Florida Cabinet, Governor Rick Scott recognized eight outstanding educators with the Governor's Shine Award, and two were from North Central Florida.

Robin Heeke of Columbia County and Brittney McGee of Union County were recognized for their contributions to the field of education. Heeke has 20 years of teaching experience with 17 at Fort White High School. She's also the 2017 Columbia County District Teacher of the Year.

McGee has been teaching for 11 years and currently teaches at Lake Butler Middle School. She is the 2017 Union County District Teacher of the Year.