North Central Florida drivers failing to obey "Move Over" law
The "Move Over" law went into effect in July of 2012, but according to local law enforcement agencies - some drivers are still failing to obey the law.
Dash cam video from Miami shows a state trooper Vanessa Franceschi making a traffic stop when she's all of a sudden hit from behind.
Trooper Franceschi said in the video, “I just got hit! And the guy is speeding away in the car right now."
Franceschi would go on to make the arrest of Raumel Quntero, but this has become a growing traffic problem that not only affects troopers and drivers in the South Florida area, but throughout the state as well.
Director Paul Bloom with the Marion County Sheriff’s Office said, "I personally responded to call where a man tripped stepping out of his car and because the car did not move over into the other lane they hit and killed that man."
Since 2012, the Florida Highway Patrol has dealt with more than 12million highway traffic stops, which has made them create the "move over law."
The law states that" a motorist must move over and change lanes to give safe clearance to law enforcement officers, firefighters, ems, utility workers and in some cases tow-truck drivers.”
And if you're on a two-lane roadway, you're required to slow to a speed that is 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit.
Florida Highway Patrol LT. Patrick Riordan said, "If you had a vehicle traveling at the rate of 80 miles per hour, they're covering 120 feet per second, which means before you can snap your fingers three times that vehicle has traveled the length of a football field."
Riordan and the FHP family lost a trooper in 2017 after he was struck and killed by a motorist on I-75.
And with some driver's still not obeying the law, he says there will be a price to pay.
Riordan said, "The better course of action, going back to defensive action is to move over a lane and give that person some extra space to deal with their situation."
The penalty for violating the "Move Over" law is a $166 dollar fine and 3 points assessed against your license.