Ron DeSantis announces members of Transition Advisory Committee on Public Safety

(WCJB) -- Governor-elect Ron DeSantis has announced the members of his Transition Advisory Committee on Public Safety.

With over 45 advisors, two are from North Central Florida.

Retired Marion County Sheriff Emery Gainey and the current Florida Sheriff's Association President and Columbia County Sheriff Mark Hunter have been named to the team.

Gainey and Hunter, along with the rest of the committee, will help develop a plan to ensure the state's crime rate continues to decline and make sure law enforcement is adequately supported.